Certified Medical Investigator®, CMI Program

Are you prepared to give medical testimony?

Medical investigators are often asked to do many different things. Sometimes they must analyze a crime scene for trace evidence; other times they must review a victim-dead or alive-for signs of violence, yet other times they must analyze DNA or other evidence, to convict the guilty or exonerate the wrongly accused.

Why should you choose the CMI Program?

The Certified Medical Investigator®, CMI Program helps prepare professionals to be competent and confident medical investigators. With five distinct levels, the CMI Program was developed to provide those in the forensic specialties with a base of knowledge that prepares them for the intricacies of the legal process, including identifying and securing a piece of evidence.

What topics does the program cover?

  • The history of forensics
  • Roles of the Medical Investigator
  • Crime scenes
  • Court systems
  • Child and elder abuse
  • Drug identification

How do I maintain the CMI credential?

The Certified Medical Investigator® Program requires Certified Members to obtain 30 Continuing Education Credits every 3 years. Excess credits obtained during that 3 year period will not be applied to the following recertification window.

Future CEs may be earned through ACFEI's Executive Summits and/or completing tests for the continuing education articles located in The Forensic Examiner®, provided in our online course catalog.

Steps to becoming a Certified Medical Investigator®, CMI

  • Meet all eligibility requirements
    General Program Requirements
    • Be a member of the American College of Forensic Examiners Institute®
    • Be at least 18 years of age
    • Have no felony convictions
    Certified Medical Investigator - I
    • Must possess a bachelor's degree in a related field, or three years of experience in the medical or forensic fields, or be a firefighter, police officer, paramedic, EMT, RN, LPN, or other related medical designation, and pass the exam for the CMI-I
    Certified Medical Investigator - II
    • Must be a CMI-I or a coroner, investigator, RN, or other professional in a forensic field, and pass the CMI-II exam
    Certified Medical Investigator - III
    • Must be a CMI-II or a coroner, investigator, RN, or other professional with five years of experience in a forensic field and pass the CMI-III exam
    Certified Medical Investigator - IV (Approved for ACCME Level I Credit)
    • Must be a CMI-III or possess an MD, DO, DDS, PhD, or other doctorate-level degree in a field relevant to forensic investigation, and pass the CMI-IV exam
    Certified Medical Investigator - V (Approved for ACCME Level I Credit)
    • Must be a CMI-IV or possess an MD, DO, DDS, PhD, or other doctorate-level degree in a field relevant to forensic investigation; must possess five years of appropriate experience in forensics, investigation, criminology, or a related field, and pass the CMI-V exam
  • Complete the application
    The application can be completed online by clicking "Apply Now" or, you may submit it via mail, phone, fax, or email.
  • Enroll in the program
    Submit payment and register to receive program materials.
  • Provide copies of résumé/curriculum vitae
    A current résumé/curriculum vitae will be placed in your file.
  • Provide copies of any degrees, licenses, certificates, and/or commissions, and two professional references
    These documents will attest to your professional standing, as will your references.
  • Review the materials once your eligibility has been confirmed.
    Materials can be accessed from your online course catalog, once you receive your log-in information.
  • Successfully pass the CMI exam.
    After finishing the exam, you will receive a certificate of completion from ACFEI.

Credential Information
Certification Maintenance Fee (1yr)


CMI-I Study Materials and Exam


Total Cost


Additional CMI levels (II-V) are $250.00 each

Certified Medical Investigator levels IV & V exams are approved for ACCME Level I credit